Quinn’s commitment to supporting the military and their families

 to be recognized at NFL Honors in Houston


The NFL and USAA awarded Atlanta Falcons head coach DAN QUINN with the 2016 “Salute to Service Award presented by USAA,” the league’s Official Military Appreciation Sponsor. The award was created to acknowledge the exceptional efforts by members of the NFL community to honor and support members of the military community.

Quinn, who will coach his Atlanta Falcons against the New England Patriots in Super Bowl LI, will be recognized tomorrow night at NFL Honors in Houston. USAA, a leading provider of insurance and other services to U.S. military members, veterans and their families, will contribute $25,000 in Quinn’s honor to the official aid societies representing all five military branches.

“Coach Quinn truly embodies the spirit of our Salute to Service Award. Though he has no direct ties to the military, he’s made it his personal charge to show appreciation for their service and sacrifice,” said Vice Admiral (Ret.) JOHN BIRD, USAA’s senior vice president of military affairs. “Coach Quinn is a very deserving recipient of this year’s award, and we wish him luck in Super Bowl LI, knowing that he has already made the NFL and the military community very proud.”

Coach Quinn has always connected with the word “team” and acknowledges that the military serves as the word’s true definition. Since entering his second season with the Atlanta Falcons, Coach Quinn has wasted no time giving back to the military community in Georgia. During the spring of 2016, Coach Quinn hosted the 2nd Annual Rookie Club Olympics at the Atlanta Falcons Training Facility, where he invited 100 military members from Fort Benning, Georgia to participate. He and his staff created the event as a way for NFL players and the military community to unite and work together as a team.

Coach Quinn hosts a “Military Day” at Training Camp and 20 military members at each Atlanta Falcons home game throughout the season. In addition, he provided a special opportunity for families of fallen soldiers with the Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors (TAPS) this season when he hosted 63 families at the Atlanta Falcons Salute to Service game in November. All of the families were invited to a VIP visit to practice, and each family was provided a one-night hotel stay in Atlanta – all courtesy of Coach Quinn. Each player wore the initials of a fallen hero on their helmet, during practice and on gameday, and provided the families with a replica helmet of their player with a personalized note in honor of their hero. Additionally, this past offseason Coach Quinn led four Atlanta Falcons players on a week-long USO Tour through the Pacific, including stops in Guam and Hawaii.

In November 2016, all 32 NFL clubs nominated coaches, active and retired players, and team executives and personnel who best demonstrated support for the military community. The submissions were evaluated by a panel of judges, including last year’s award recipient, Tampa Bay Buccaneers wide receiver VINCENT JACKSON. Nominees’ credentials are evaluated based on the positive effect of the individual’s efforts on the military community, the type of service conducted, the thoroughness of the program and level of commitment.

The panel of judges, consisting of representatives from the U.S. military, the NFL and USAA, includes:

  • VICE ADMIRAL JOHN BIRD (Ret.), U.S. Navy veteran and USAA Senior Vice President of Military Affairs
  • ROCKY BLEIER, U.S. Army veteran and four-time Super Bowl champion
  • CHAD HENNINGS, Air Force Academy graduate and three-time Super Bowl champion
  • VINCENT JACKSON, Tampa Bay Buccaneers wide receiver and 2015 Salute to Service Award recipient
  • TOD LEIWEKE, NFL Chief Operating Officer
  • JIM MORA, SR., Marine Corps veteran and former NFL head coach
  • ROGER STAUBACH, Naval Academy graduate, NFL Pro Football Hall of Fame quarterback and Super Bowl MVP


Below is the list of previous Salute to Service Award recipients.

2015 Vincent Jackson Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2014 Jared Allen Chicago Bears
2013 John Harbaugh (Head Coach) Baltimore Ravens
2012 Charles Tillman Chicago Bears
2011 K.S. “Bud” Adams Jr. (Late Owner) Tennessee Titans

Comments are closed.